top of page
  • Writer's pictureLize Gibson-Hall

Animals Taking Over Nature Again, an Art Series


I have always loved art, especially the weird almost creepy pieces. When developing my own art style, I struggled with realism and making things look exactly like they do in real life. I also struggled massively with backgrounds and could not seem to put down on paper what was in my head.


I put art aside when I went to University, focusing more on my marine biology degree and the written language of research and science. It has only been since graduation, that I started to think about how much art influences conservation messages and science communication. What I love most about art is its universal language. It is a way to connect with one another through a visual medium and, even with the descriptions attached, allows viewers to make their own opinion of the piece.


The Series


Whilst scrolling through Instagram, I came across some amazing work by Elliot Masters (@ell85design). I had not seen this technique before of combining digital art with photographs and realised this could become my forte. I love photography, and believe these backgrounds are better and more visual than anything I could personally draw in my head.


The series came about with my first humorous design of a large octopus-type creature taking over a battleship. I wanted to create artwork that showed animals "literally larger than life", and in places they may not naturally occur. I would like each artwork below to tell a different story and would ask that you create your own story from the piece before you read my description.




A viper wrapping itself around Smeaton's tower in Plymouth and crushing it to get a better view of the Ocean at night


Smeaton’s tower is currently residing on Plymouth’s Hoe and is an icon of the city, made famous for its backdrop from The Beatles' visit. Build in 1759, it was key in reducing the numerous shipwrecks Plymouth had to endure over the years.


The lighthouse was moved and replaced when it was determined that the structure it was placed on was notwithstanding the ferocity of the Southern English coast. To symbolise the fragility of this structure, I thought about the type of animal that would be able to crush it, just like the Ocean. A snake/viper came to mind immediately due to their powerful mobility and force in which they crush their prey.


This piece is an example of the fragility of ‘man-made’ structures compared to the resilience and strength of nature.






A cute little Otter, coined 'big Dave', playing with his rock whilst chilling in the Thames, London


Otter populations were recorded to suffer a detrimental decline in the 1950s due to pollution from chemical pesticide run-off in river systems. Since work has commenced to reduce this pollution and ‘clear up our rivers’, otters have been spotted returning to areas including London!


The particular otter muse in this drawing was photographed during my visit to the Otter and Butterfly Sanctuary, Buckfastleigh. Known by the keepers as big Dave, this rescued otter appeared content playing with his prized rock. Whilst on one of London's water taxis, I thought back to big Dave and wondered what the resident otters of the River Thames must think of the big city.


Want to make a difference? Download the mammal mapper app and start recording mammals in your local area to help the Biological Records Centre and other researching bodies keep track of mammal populations including otters. If you are not in the UK, download the iNaturalist app which has global coverage and allows photographic/audio submissions of species from all taxa (except humans).





Mammoths of Plymouth reclaiming their land


An exciting discovery of a mammal tooth at a cavern in Yealmpton, Devon, is evidence that woolly mammoths were once calling Plymouth, UK, their home around 35,000 years ago. Visiting the artistic reconstruction of Mildred the mammoth in The Box museum, Plymouth, which is accompanied by this very tooth, caused me to wonder what mammoths would think of the current urbanisation and development of Plymouth.


One of my favourite locations in Plymouth is Central Park. It was amusing to picture woolly mammoths finding solace in the few areas of nature and green spaces in the city big enough to roam around. Could we live in harmony on our local park walks?





Other Work

  1. Seal - Two grey seals enjoying a warm day sleeping on the harbour wall in Plymouth

  2. Blobfish - A blobfish imitating a large container ship coming into port to see what all the ‘noise’ is about

  3. Pigeon - A pigeon hitching a ride on an aeroplane, making sure to wear the correct eye protection

  4. Beetles – A range of beetle species trying to use what is left of their habitat to share space

  5. Owl – An owl trying to make its voice known amongst the trees

  6. Kraken - A Kraken having enough of the disturbance of a battleship and decided to sink it to get some peace and quiet

  7. Crab - An edible crab enjoying seeing a rainbow from new heights

  8. Frog – A frog confused why its water habitat is being enclosed in a tower, whilst eyeing up its dinner



My Personal Lessons Learned;

  • There is no 'one way' to draw/create a piece of artwork

  • Art is completely subjective and that is what makes it so powerful

  • Animals or other recognisable figures do not need to look realistic to be enjoyable to the eye and to tell a story

  • When you add a story to an art piece it has the ability to portray an important message about conservation without being obvious or including associated text

  • If you decide to take a scientific career/academic path this does not mean you need to forget about that arts. They are still very much relevant.


I would love to know what you think of these pieces and if you came up with a different story. I am also completely open to constructive advice but ask you all to be kind and understand I am not a professionally trained artist. Instead, I am simply doing what I love and hoping to make a difference with these pieces.





If you would like to support my work please visit my online Redbubble and Society6 shops. With select pieces above, I have decided to donate all of the profits to key charities I have discovered over the years or have worked closely with.






bottom of page